Intelligence Community

Diamond shaped graphic with handshake and US flag and words Intelligence Community.

Intelligence plays a vital role in protecting the national security of the United States. The Intelligence Community, consisting of 17 organizations led by the Director of National Intelligence, is responsible for providing the President, the National Security Council, and other executive branch entities with the necessary information on which to base decisions concerning the conduct and development of foreign, defense and economic policy, and the protection of United States national interests from security threats. The Intelligence Community refers to the federal government agencies, services, bureaus, or other organizations that conduct a variety of intelligence activities:

  • Director of National Intelligence
  • Under Secretary of Defense for Intelligence
  • Air Force Intelligence
  • Army Intelligence
  • Central Intelligence Agency
  • Coast Guard Intelligence
  • Defense Intelligence Agency
  • Department of Energy, Office of Intelligence and Counterintelligence
  • Department of Homeland Security, Office of Intelligence and Analysis
  • Department of State, Bureau of Intelligence and Research
  • Department of the Treasury, Office of Intelligence and Analysis
  • Department of Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration, Office of National Security Intelligence
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation, National Security Branch
  • Marine Corps Intelligence
  • National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
  • National Reconnaissance Office
  • National Security Agency
  • Navy Intelligence

The Director of National Intelligence (DNI) is the head of the Intelligence Community and is the principal advisor to the President, the National Security Council, and the Homeland Security Council for intelligence matters related to national security. Statutory authority for intelligence matters is found in Title 50 U.S. Code.

View more information on each member of the Intelligence Community.